Stepping into the world of Photography Blogging

It’s been a little while since I’ve done any form of blog. I had a couple of different attempts throughout the years but for me, life and mainly work, always seems to get in the way. So I decided to make a blog about something I’m really passionate about and would have time for.

Photography

For those who know me well, know that I have been passionate about Photography for 25 years. I was doing it on a more serious level for a while but 6 years ago I decided to stop for a few different reasons.

They say that good things come out of tragedy. Ever since my wife and I had our twin girls that were still born in August 2018, I found my passion again for photography. I had hit a period where I was really struggling and found that using a mix of Photography and country walks started to give me focus again. I quickly realised that photography was my therapy. It gave me a renewed passion for life, a chance to express my emotions and a creative outlet to focus on.

Since then I’ve found this has really helped and whether I’m out shooting, editing at home or more recently updating social media, I find it’s relaxing and I have a real sense of accomplishment. Recently I have stepped up my online presence. I’ve been engaging on Instagram for just over a month and for the last fortnight on Facebook. The next natural step for me was to start up a blog to accompany my visual journey.

I’ve always enjoyed a vast mix of styles and genres within photography. Wildlife, nature and landscapes ties in with my love for the great outdoors and walking.

I also love portraiture and the many forms this comes in. So I’m expecting to be using this platform as a way of exploring all these styles.

I take inspiration from photographers old and new in all styles and genres. From Ansel Adams to last years Wildlife Photographer of the Year Marsel van Oosten. Keith Ladzinski to Paul Nicklen, Edward Weston to Rankin, Erwin Blumenfeld to Helmut Newton or even Classic pin up artists like Gil Elvgren There’s also newer photography inspirations I’ve come across such as Warren Price or Steve Biro on Instagram.

I’ve found that with a mixture of experimenting with the different photographs I take and by researching and appreciating other photographers styles and skills, it only leads to me advancing my own learning and growth. In turn it improves what visual stimulation I can offer to others.

I’m looking forward to getting creative and hope you enjoy following my journey through photography either on my blog, on Facebook or Instagram.

Leave a comment